'

Sweet Land, the musical

Thursday, May 4, 2017Thursday, May 18, 2017
10:00 am

History Theatre

30 E 10th St
Saint Paul, MN 55101

Student Matinees:
Thursday, May 4, 2017 • 10am
Thursday, May 11, 2017 • 10am
Thursday, May 18, 2017 • 10am

Book by Perrin Postv Lyrics & Book by Laurie Flanigan-Hegge
Music by Dina Maccabee
From the film Sweet Land by Ali Selim and the short story “A Gravestone Made of Wheat” by Will Weaver
Directed by Perrin Post
Choreography by Joe Chvala
Musical Arrangements by Robert Elhai
Musical Direction by Jason Hansen/em>

A poignant, lyrical celebration of land, love, and the American immigrant experience

1920. Inge Altenberg journeys to America to marry a bachelor farmer, sight unseen. But in the wake of WWI, Inge’s German heritage turns her new neighbors against the match. Under cathedral skies, the determined young immigrant and her stoic farmer fight for their lives, facing their own misgivings and the harshness of an unforgiving land. A lyrical celebration of hard-won independence and a reflection of generations past, Sweet Land reminds us of who we are — and where we came from.

History Theatre provides 4th–12th grade education groups with a unique opportunity to explore history, social issues, and professional contemporary theatre through engaging live performances and educational resources. History Theatre artists bring the stories to life on stage while History Theatre staff provide the supporting materials that help educators bring the connections to life in the classroom. Educators are encouraged to use the Theatre Etiquette Guide (PDF) to prepare students for their visit to a live performance.

Target grade level: for 4th–12th grades

Both individual homeschool families and homeschool groups may order school group rate theatre tickets to school matinees.

Cost per child/student: $10
Cost per adult/educator: $10

Reservations: Contact Jill Vaughn, Audience Services Manager, at 651-292-4320 or jvaughn(at)historytheatre.com

Payment and seating priority: For weekday matinees, groups will be seated together in the best possible seating available at the time when final payment is received.

For more information, contact Jill Vaughn, Audience Services Manager, at 651-292-4320 or jvaughn(at)historytheatre.com or visit the “Student Groups” and “Learning Resources” sections at historytheatre.com/box-office/groups.

Evening and Weekend Performances
Thursday, April 27, 2017 • 7:30pm Preview
Friday, April 28, 2017 • 7:30pm Preview
Saturday, April 29, 2017 • 7:30pm Opening Night
Sunday, April 30, 2017 • 2pm
 
Thursday, May 4, 2017 • 7:30pm
Friday, May 5, 2017 • 7:30pm
Saturday, May 6, 2017 • 7:30pm
Sunday, May 7, 2017 • 2pm
 
Thursday, May 11, 2017 • 7:30pm
Friday, May 12, 2017 • 7:30pm
Saturday, May 13, 2017 • 7:30pm
Sunday, May 14, 2017 • 2pm ASL interpreted and Audio Described
 
Thursday, May 18, 2017 • 7:30pm
Friday, May 19, 2017 • 7:30pm
Saturday, May 20, 2017 • 7:30pm
Sunday, May 21, 2017 • 2pm


Information subject to change. Please check with History Theatre for the most current information.